What I was loving in February

  • Deliciously Ella Cookbook

Admittedly I have only had this book a few weeks but as an avid reader of the Deliciously Ella blog I knew I would love it. And love it I do. Every recipe sounds delicious. My favourite so far is her Sweet Potato Brownies – YUM!  Her passion for healthy eating truly comes to life on each page and I am looking forward to recreating some of that passion in my own kitchen as I work my way through her recipes.

2015-03-01 21.56.02

http://deliciouslyella.com/

  • Choc Orange Tea

This month I have been enjoying sipping on Charbrews choc orange tea after dinner. I often crave something sweet around 7pm and this helps take the edge off that craving. Made from Roobios tea it’s naturally sans caffeine which means it won’t turn you into an insomniac and it’s also thought to assist with digestive problems. Without milk the orange flavour is uplifting however add a dash of creamy almond milk and it transforms into a comforting hug in a mug.

IDShot_540x540

  • Coconut Oil

Coconut Oil is everywhere just now and I am a true believer.  About 2 years ago I started using coconut oil as way to help sooth my dry and occasionally eczema prone skin. Now I use it at any given opportunity. I put it in smoothies, cook and bake with it, slap it on my hair when it looks frazzled, remove make up and moisturise with it, heck sometimes I eat it off the spoon when I’m in need of a coconut fix. I’m not loyal to one particular brand, as long as it organic and cold pressed and has not been refined, bleached or deodorised I don’t mind.  I repeatedly find Biona in my shopping basket.

organic-virgin-coconut-oil---raw-_biona_-800g

  • Sweet Potatoes

Nothing new here right? Wrong. I have always reserved my sweet potatoes for lunch and dinner but in January I had the urge to devour these beautiful spuds for breakfast roasted and topped with coconut yogurt, raw cacao nibs and plenty cinnamon. This Vitamin A packed breakfast was warming on a cold winter morning and so satisfying I wasn’t hungry again until lunch! Try it, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

IMG_20150121_075702

Leave a Reply

